top of page

About Us

The Alliance for Cape Fear Trees (ACFT) is a non-profit founded in December 2015 by members of the Wilmington Tree Commission to address the needs of the community and urban forestry in the Greater Wilmington and lower Cape Fear region.


ACFT focuses on education, advocacy, preservation, and new tree plantings.


The ACFT is run by volunteers and has an active core of around twenty volunteer experts in trees and advisory services relating to the nurture, protection, and regulation of the urban forest. Through our volunteers, the work of the ACFT is made possible.

Our mission is to preserve, protect and plant trees to enhance the quality of life and health for present and future generations in the Lower Cape Fear area.


  • Dan Camacho (Executive Director)

  • Allison Childs (Administrative Coordinator)

Board of Directors:

  • Connie Parker (President)

  • Sherry O'Danniel (Vice-President)

  • Laura McCabe (Secretary and Member of Outreach, Events & Education Committee )

  • Donna Hurdle (Treasurer)

  • John Anagnost (Co Vice-Chair Outreach Education & Development Committee)

  • Mary Bradley (Personnel Committee)

  • Henry Campbell (Co Vice-Chair Outreach, Education & Development Committee)

  • Gareth Evans (Vice-Chair Nominating Committee)

  • Sonja Green (Outreach, Education & Development Committee)

  • Margee Herring (Chair Public Relations)

  • Bill Jayne (Chair Nominating Committee)

  • Everette Jones (Development Committee)

  • Ann Marquino (Legacy Trees)

  • Michael Murchison (Finance Committee)

  • Dan Schmidt (Chair Outreach, Education & Events Committee)

  • Joshua Shields (Development Committee)

Non-voting Board Members

  • Dr. Martin Meyerson

  • Jim Gregory, PhD

  Ex-Officio Board Members

  • Jesica Blake (Coastal Land Trust)

  • Tom Boland (Wilmington Tree Commission)

  • Dru Harrison (NHC Soil and Water)

  • Haley Hopkins (City of Wilmington Planning)

  • Dylan McDonnell (NHC Planning)

  • Andy McGlinn (Plastic Ocean Project)

  • Janine Powell (NHC Parks and Gardens)

  • Amy Schlag (City of Wilmington Equity & Inclusion Specialist)

  • Lloyd Singleton (N.C. Cooperative Extension - NHC Center and Arboretum)

  • Burrows Smith (Developer)

bottom of page